Tis that time of year again. Not the New Year, nor the Islamic New Year, but Ramadan: the month where good deeds are worth more, the devils are locked up (good riddance) and by sheer necessity all routines are adapted, modified or completely redone. As is my habit, I’ve got some goals for this Ramadan. Like last year, I’m going to break my goals down according to what I want to do (like, really really want to do), what I’d like to do and what I won’t do Inshallah.

To be honest, my goals feel very repetitive – it’s like I do the same things every year. But then again, I guess that’s what I do. 😀

Things I will do:

  1. Pray Taraweeh. (I’ll do this at home – the mosques in my area aren’t that good – after Isha or before Fajr or between the two.)
  2. Read the whole Qur’an. (I take advantage of the early enthusiasm at the beginning by reading extra, which keeps me motivated, which helps me to finish.)
  3. Pray 2 rakat before/after every prayer. (Taraweeh after Isha is included in this.)
  4. Blog a minimum of 3 times a week. <– This is important to me because I really need to blog more often Inshallah, and if I find a blogging groove then I hope that it’ll last outside of Ramadan too. I’m hoping to write three posts in one go and schedule them throughout the week Inshallah.

Things I’d like to do:

  1. Revise at least 4 hizbs of Qur’an. I think I’ll probably start this after I’ve finished reading the Qur’an. Also, I’ll be praying with the same hizb / juz throughout the beginning of Ramadan which will help me to revise them.
  2. Exercise 3-4 times a week. (Side note: I’m so unfit these days 😦 ) I can only do this at night, probably on the nights when it’s my sister’s turn to do the washing up.
  3. Say extra duas / adhkar along with my daily dhikr. (which I have kept up from last Ramadan 😀 ) I have a list of Duas / dhikr I want to say, and I’m going to stick it to my bedroom wall to remind me Inshallah.
  4. Listen to Qur’an. I’ve gotten out of the habit of this and it’s important as it helps me revise / memorise. I’m going to download a recitation I like and put it on my iphone Inshallah.

Things I won’t do:

  1. Watch crappy TV (with the exception of The Biggest Loser – don’t ask, it’s a weird Ramadan family tradition). I will maybe watching documentaries, but I need to catch up on my blog reading first. I simply haven’t downloaded anything to watch, so that’s pretty much taken care of.
  2. Spend hours in the kitchen. I tend to get caught up in Ramadan with all the food I’d love to eat, and then I spend ages in the kitchen cooking, experimenting or washing dishes, so I’d like to cut back on this, just to keep it in proportion. To do this, we’ve got a Ramadan menu so that we know what we have to do and it’s planned so that nobody has to be in there all day.
  3. Overeat. I did well on this last year, and I so want to keep it up this year Inshallah. I’m going to be using myfitnesspal.com to track my meals Inshallah.

Ok, there we have it: this year’s Ramadan plan. May Allah make it easy.

Do you have any goals for Ramadan this year? How do you intend to fit them in Inshallah?

