[For previous reviews of this month’s goals, see here and here.]

Oh boy, what a week. I feel like this whole month has been a waste – like I’ve accomplished nothing. Alhamdulillah we got to see quite a few people last week (and go the hairdressers, which always makes me feel better), and as a result everything pretty much went out the window.

Anyways, on to the nitty-gritty! Here’s the review of this month’s goals for this week:

Things I will do Inshallah:

1) Finish reading the Qur’an.

2) Perform 4 Rakat of voluntary prayer a day 4 times a week.

Not praying, so doesn’t count.

3) Morning and evening Dua.

Mostly yes, but I’ve been cheating and skipping some of the Adhkar most of the time. This is a bad thing because even when I do say my dua, I feel as though I haven’t really because of my cheating.

4) Work on my thesis for 2 hours a day, 4 days a week

This goal is a joke. I’ve done nothing on it yet.

5) Read the Qur’an again in its entirety.

Ummm, I got as far as Surah Al-Maidah this week before slacking off, so I guess that means it aint gonna happen this month. 😦

Things I’d like to do, but might not:

1) Blog twice a week.

Alhamdulillah, this does seem to be happening, which is kinda funny when you think about it. I mean, this is one of the things that I’d like to do, but might not and I’ve done pretty well on it, but the things I was definitely going to do, I’ve been slacking on.

2) Revise three hizbs from the end of the Qur’an.

I’ve basically given up on this one.

3) Keep a food diary.

7 out of 7 – Woohoo! Alhamdulillah I’ve gotten back into my usual food / exercise routine, which is something I am really happy and relieved about. It’s only taken a year to form these new healthier habits, but they seem to finally be habits. May Allah make it last – especially though winter, cause that’s my weakness; winter makes me lazy.

As for my other non-Islamic goals, I’m picking up the teaching again so inshallah by the first week of October I’ll have my timetable all figured out, I’ve been reading lots of articles online from various magazines (non-Islamic) that I’ve subscribed to on my Google Reader, but I need to finish my fiction book. Unfortunately it’s a crime/mystery/thriller-ish type, so I can’t read it before I go to bed – it either keeps me awake, or gives me such vivid dreams that I wake up after an hour or two and can’t go back to sleep for ages. #ReadingProblems.

This week, I’m just going to try to focus on my habits, reinforcing them. That means no cheating on my adhkar, praying 4 rakahs 4 times this week, and continuing to read the Qur’an. At least this way I’ll start October with something approaching good habits.

How’s your week been?

