I did really well last week, and then at the end of the week it just fell apart and this week has been a mess. Why? I’m fasting. Still fasting. And I’m so over it. I just want to be done already. I find it draining mentally. Inshallah I’ll be finished making up my days and fasting the six days of Shawwal by Tuesday the 11th of September. I’m literally counting down the days.

Anyways, I’ll go over my goals for this month so far:

Things I will do Inshallah:

1) Finish reading the Qur’an. DONE!!! Alhamdulillah I finished this last Friday – just before September started.

2) Perform 4 Rakat of voluntary prayer a day 4 times a week. I did do this last week, but this week I just couldn’t be bothered. I know that sounds terrible, but I kept putting it off and now intend to just restart this week.

3) Morning and evening Dua. I have kept this up overall – there have been a few days where I’ve missed some or all of them, but I’ve stuck to this overall.

4) Work on my thesis for 2 hours a day, 4 days a week. I aint done zip on this. Nada. Nuffink. Zero. And the first week of September is over. Le sigh.

Things I’d like to do, but might not:

1) Blog twice a week. Well obviously I haven’t done this! I’ve only blogged 3 times so far when I should have done four, so I’m going to try and squeeze an extra post in at some point down the line. Either way, including this post, I’ll make it for this coming week’s quota with a post scheduled for Sunday Inshallah.

2) Read the Qur’an again in its entirety. Haven’t started this yet, but I’ve decided to start it this week Inshallah, so I’m re-prioritising this as one of the things I will do inshallah.

3) Revise three hizbs from the end of the Qur’an. Haven’t started this yet.

4) Keep a food diary. I have mostly done this over the past two weeks – I’ve skipped a few days here and there, but already it’s having the desired effect: I’ve quit grazing, and have started to think about what I actually put in my mouth.

Apart from that, I’ve just been fasting, getting back into teaching, and been reading tons (I’ve already finished the Hunger Games trilogy).

I guess what I’m going to have to work on over the next week is praying 4 extra rakats a day, sticking to my dua and food diary, and starting to read the Qur’an again. Towards the end of the week, when I’m done fasting Inshallah, I’ll start working on my thesis again and really get into the whole teaching thing properly.

Is anyone else finding this fasting hard? It’s sooooo much harder than Ramadan – and I usually like fasting by myself (don’t have to consider other people’s moods, amongst other things).

