2:185
The month of Ramadhan [is that] in which was revealed the Qur’an, a guidance for the people and clear proofs of guidance and criterion. So whoever sights [the new moon of] the month, let him fast it; and whoever is ill or on a journey – then an equal number of other days. Allah intends for you ease and does not intend for you hardship and [wants] for you to complete the period and to glorify Allah for that [to] which He has guided you; and perhaps you will be grateful.
[Surah Al-Baqarah: 185]

I’ve decided to set meself some goals again for this Ramadan, as it does help to give me some measure of progress throughout. Some goals are more important to me than others, so I’ll be focusing on them more and I fully intend to see them through. Others, if they happen, it’d be great, but if not, it’s no biggie.

Things I will do Inshallah:

  1. Read the Qur’an.
  2. Pray Tarawih.
  3. Pray a minimum of 2 rakahs of Qiyam ul-layl, two or three times a week for starters.
  4. Make my dua in the morning (before going to sleep after praying fajr) and evening (if not before, then after Tarawih – I’ll definitely be free then).

Things I’d like to do, but might not:

  1. Finish memorising Surah Yunus.
  2. Publish one post every day on this blog (it’ll force me to think of something Islamic to write and think about).
  3. Revise some Qur’an. Maybe the last 4 hizbs.
  4. Exercise 4 times a week Inshallah.

Things I will not do Inshallah:

  1. Watch any of my usual TV programmes / films (this one’s a doozy, cause all of my fave TV series are over for the summer). Note the use of the word ‘usual’ above. This does not include any Islamic TV series that’re on – I’m eyeing the one about Umar Ibn Al-Khattab on MBC – and documentaries too.
  2. Overeat. Alhamdulillah last year I felt that I managed to get a good handle on my food and not go crazy, while still enjoying Iftar. I would like to repeat that this year.

Basically it’s a rinse and repeat of last year’s goals. Inshallah I meet them. I was thinking about various incentives, I like the kiddy ones that Itto has on her blog, but really, I think I’m old enough to be doing the things on my list for myself, without making a game out of it. 😀

How about you, are you setting any goals for Ramadan?

